Into the dishwasher

I remember once I had a Norwex party (microfiber cleaning products if you haven’t heard of it, it’s great stuff!) and the consultant commented on how clean and shiny our sink baskets were. She was amazed when I told her that I never really cleaned them, I just put them in the dishwasher. You could much around with a toothbrush, but that sounds like too much hard work for me, I just put them in the dishwasher. Or of cause you could just leave them as they are only plugs in the bottom of your sink lol. As mine are still relatively new I like them to have a bit of sparkle πŸ˜‰

IMG_0470Β  Β IMG_0477

This got me thinking, what else do I put in the dishwasher to save some time and scrubbing power?

Range Hood Vents

IMG_0471Β  Β IMG_0474

(How’s that for a before and after shot?!)

These have got to be the greasiest, messiest, most revolting thing in the kitchen to try and clean, eeew! You could scrub them and in the process spray greasy dishwater everywhere…nope…dishwasher!
You may want to check your user manual just in case.

Dish Brushes

IMG_0472Β  Β IMG_0476
Man these can get gross. You could bleach them or bin them if they are super nasty but the dishwasher normally does the trick to brighten them up and will kill any nasties lurking in there.

Toys

IMG_0473Β  Β IMG_0475
I have to say I have never been one to disinfect everything in sight, in fact I generally don’t clean toys unless they are super desperate. If they are plastic…think Duplo, Marble Maze, Baby Toys, basically anything washable and plastic…I say, dishwasher!

Bath Toys
As above really. Oh and next time you get new ones, plug up those pesky holes with silicone or super glue! πŸ˜‰

There are some things unfortunately that are just not made for the dishwasher.

These things I do not put in the dishwasher.

Knifes. Β I have good quality kitchen knifes and I used to put them in the dishwasher but it noticed they need sharpening often. I stopped putting them in there and now they stay sharper for much longer. For the same reason also…

Blades. Β Thermomix and other food processor blades. Also veggie peelers and cheese graters.

Fry pans and saucepansΒ with any sort of non-stick coating. The odd wash here and there won’t hurt but over time this will damage the surface.

I have to say thanks to my Mumma Dear, I think most of these things I do because she’s told me about it or I saw her do it growing up Xxx

What do or don’t you put in your dishwasher? They are fabulous friends in the kitchen, make the most of yours.

Work smarter not harder I say πŸ˜‰

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love to hear your thoughts, comments and questions.

