It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas

It may have taken me a week of 5 minutes here and 5 minutes there, and a few days of ‘I’m really not in the mood to sew’ but my girls christmas stockings are done!

IMG_0270

I saw a picture of some beautifully quilted stockings in bright non traditional colours and loved them, bonus that I could use up some of my scrappy bits πŸ™‚

Any quilters out there please don’t look to closely, actually just have a very quick glance and then look away! This is my first attempt at quilting and I have to say I really enjoyed it! I had avoided it in the past because I imagined it to be impossibly fiddly and time consuming. I was wrong. They were enjoyably fiddly and really not that time consuming at all. I experimented with the different styles, I love the spiral. I found a great tutorial for it here

http://sewlux.blogspot.com.au/2011/11/scrappy-spiral-stocking-tutorial.html

and then used a similar method but without the paper for the other stockings (I am sure there is a name for this?).

imageΒ imageΒ image

I completely winged it with the quilting on the backing.

imageΒ imageΒ image

So I think I’m hooked and already busting to check out Pinterest for my next quilting project! Maybe something that can double as a Christmas pressie?? Β  Stay tuned πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas

  1. Erin @ Once Upon a Donkey says:

    YAY! They look great Gretta. I can’t see a thing wrong with them. You should be so proud. So happy to hear that you’re diving into the world of quilting too. So much fun!!! Be prepared to get lost in Pinterest. I’ve “wasted” many an hour there. Just shout if you’d ever like advice. πŸ™‚

    Like

I love to hear your thoughts, comments and questions.

