The world inside my freezer

Anyone who knows me well knows that I LOVE my freezer. I would honestly be very lost without it. I have most definitely inherited this love from my Mum and Grandma, although not quite to the extend of my dear Grandma who freezes every last scrap of vegetable steaming water in old margarine tubs to be used later in soup. She does make delicious soup!

You know the way that small children can be completely happy and content one minute and then absolutely starving the next, well this is why I love my freezer. It is also handy for the times when I manage to get totally carried away with something and then realize that I am the one who is absolutely starving or that it’s only 15 minutes until tea time. Β Also for when guests pop in at meal times and I was planning to have Weetbix or toast πŸ˜‰ Also for lunch boxes…and the list goes on.

For all this to work you really do need some kind of system for organising your freezer. Searching through the back of your freezer for something that you were sure was there last month, is really not fun, it’s just far too darn cold in there. You need to have a general idea of where to look. Mine works like this.

image

My husband just saw me taking a photo of the freezer and he thinks I need to get a life, lol πŸ˜‰

anyway…
Top shelf – leftovers frozen in small portions for the girls

Middle shelf – bread, rolls, sorbet, ice cream, anything else that is bulky

Bottom shelf – meals in portions enough for 1-2 adults
Casseroles, curries, pasta sauces (with or without pasta), fried rice, cooked meat and veggie pie fillings, lasagne, roast meat in gravy (this freezes very well which surprised me and I think now it’s a favorite) and the list goes on!

Top Drawer – all sorts of random stuff generally in zip lock bags (I think this drawer could warrant a whole post for itself!)

2nd drawer – raw meat, bacon frozen in bags of 4/6 rashers.

3rd drawer – dairy and fruit, odd combination yes. I like to have grated cheddar and Parmesan, whipped cream and cream cheese, these all freeze very well and can save precious time and effort, or a trip to the shops, while cooking. I make butter and freeze it in 250g blocks and freeze the buttermilk in either ice cubes or 100/200ml lots.

4th drawer – sweets and savouries for lunch boxes. These live in zip lock bags, I love those things! Muffins, cakes cut into pieces, sliced Banana Bread, pickets, scones will all defrost in a couple of hours in a lunch box and make for easy packing in the morning. And not only for kids lunches, making your lunch is one of the easiest ways to save LOTS of money. I make my husbands lunch almost everyday purely and simply because I’m a tight ass and can’t bear the thought of him buying lunch everyday lol!

I think I sense a few upcoming posts about freezer cooking, if you don’t cook for the freezer already I can highly recommend it! It has saved us many dinners of Weetbix in the last few months since number three has come along πŸ™‚

Have I inspired you to clean out your freezer? Β Or cook double tonight to add to your frozen collection?

3 thoughts on “The world inside my freezer

  1. twinklingnorthstar says:

    Our freezer was absolutely packed 3 months ago when our second bub came along… just last night I was looking into it despairingly, how did we eat through everything? I also like cooking in batches so we have a few “emergency” meals for the nights we are too exhausted or are feeling lazy or didn’t make it to the supermarket… Love to know what meals you make that are freezer friendly. For us at the moment its soups, chilli con carne and beef stew (mostly)…!

    Liked by 1 person

    • gewington says:

      It sure does make things so much easier on those crazy days :-). This freezer post has been more popular than I thought, I am working on one about meals to freeze and lunch box items I freeze, stay tuned πŸ™‚

      Like

I love to hear your thoughts, comments and questions.

